The London Seance Society DNFN

London Seance:

It’s not you, it’s me. The London Seance Society was one I had major high hopes for, but it just didn’t work out. It may have been the timing, but for now, it’s a DNFFN.

I honestly don’t think I’ve heard the word “ectoplasm” this much since my child went through her Ghostbusters phase. The concept was wicked and I was totally engrossed in it for a little bit. But, the execution left me wanting more. Much more.

I did enjoy the dual POVs of what was happening. I found myself more interested in Lena’s POV. The read was completely atmospheric and I felt like I was in the 1800s in their homes easily.

The part I didn’t like was how many breadcrumbs were thrown are way. This is hard to make sense, but it felt like the author couldn’t trust us enough to make up the decision on who the bad guy was? Listen, my Nancy Drew skills may be a bit rusty, but throw me a bone here, I know a bad guy when I see one. (Except Hans, he got me too Anna. I was shocked) I was hoping for a slew of seances and interesting medium things, but I got one. One.

This was a miss for me. Now it may be a hit for you and I hope you loved it. Thank you Harper for my copy. The London Seance Society is out now.

Leave a comment